FCE PROFILES: JUDE ANCHANG Up Close & Personal

In FCE profile interviews, we grant you an unprecedented, unedited and an uncut  look into the lives of some of the most talented entertainers around. This week we get up close and personal with the incredibly talented Jude Anchang. That’s why we are  FatalCut Entertainment. Saying it as it is…

judeblackwhite

Born in Washington D.C, Jude Anchang left at age five to Yaounde, Cameroon in West Africa. He grew up as the youngest of eight siblings of which there is a ten-year gap between the sixth and seventh siblings. This led the family to be in two separate generations and despite being the youngest of eight, it often felt like the youngest of two with six pseudo-parents and parents who felt like grandparents. His father was a writer-professor-scholar turned politician in Cameroon while his mother was a school teacher.

Unlike most gifted performers, Jude never had a keen interest in acting from childhood, though he did appear on the CAMEROON TELEVISION telecast of the teleplay THE GODS ARE NOT TO BLAME. This was his first major role on television. He went on to attend secondary school at Sacred Heart College, Mankon. He had good marks in sciences, so he thought it would lead him to a medical profession. But upon his arrival in California, things changed rather abruptly. His dormant talent resurfaced. After auditioning for a spot in a Santa Monica College acting class as an elective and he was recommended to audition for The Juilliard School Of Drama.After attending the Juilliard, he returned to Los Angeles where he is currently writing, directing and acting on stage and screen and currently, a web series.

DAN_8824

Most recently, he can be seen on the HBO film PAGE 36 directed by Nelsan Ellis of TRUE BLOOD fame. He plays the wealthy businessman who participates in underground slavery. He can also be seen in David Hill’s short film REFLECTOR, where he plays a grieving Namibian policeman avenging his brother’s murder. He is also starring in a web series comedy titled “TIS MORE THAN LOVE” about a couple coming to terms with their past before getting married.

He is fluent in French and is often confused for a British national with his accent. His hobbies include consuming massive amounts of TEDtalks, studying classical literature and history. He also has a huge interest in dance as he once choreographed a piece to the music of Branford Marsalis. He is currently an active blogger on Tumblr and WordPress under the moniker XULAIMABLOG.

FATAL:

I was born premature. And the most interesting part about my birth was that, the first doctor my mother came across advised her to abort me because I was a health risk to her. She had seven other children before me and was told she was cutting it close. But my mother being a staunch catholic refused such counsel and sought the intercession of St. Jude and I was able to come out via C. section. Hence why I was named Jude.

jportrait

CUT:

When I was eighteen years old I was introduced to the work of Mr. Sidney Poitier while I was trying my hand at sales at a retail store in Century City. I had started my formal acting training but I was well aware that being in Los Angeles, the stakes were very high. I needed a role model. Someone, who might be similar to me that would give me hope in moments of despair. But with Mr. Poitier, the similarities were astounding: He was also born premature. He was also the youngest of eight children. He was born in the United States and was raised in his parents’ homeland. He returned to the States as a teenager and despite his firm sense of self, he was often mocked for his accent.

FCPPage36

He trained in New York City. By the time I discovered his work, I was still much of a dreamer. All I had was a dream of becoming respected. Not famous but respected; possibly even revered. Mr. Poitier’s performance as Walter Lee Younger in Lorraine Hansberry’s A RAISIN IN THE SUN, showed me how an individual of foreign origin could make a mark on what was thought to be American territory. When I was 21, it was my monologue in LES BLANCS by Lorraine Hansberry that was part of my clinching factor in getting into The Juilliard School in New York City. I believe everyone has their own destiny but sometimes perhaps sometimes, the Higher Order creates patterns to remind us of what elements are in our favor despite possible evidence to the contrary.

FCEReflector

ENTERTAINMENT:

IN 2008/2009 I wrote and directed a play titled FAR FROM AN ANGEL’S GAZE which sold out two weeks in a row. It was set in war-torn Congo. It highlighted the troubles faced by ordinary citizens due to the tribal conflicts, militia activity and corporate interests at play in the region.
This taught me about the power of creating material out of reality and how powerful it can be for people that need healing from it.

Bugaboo3

More information on Jude

JUDE Y. ANCHANG

Actor|Filmmaker|Playwright

X  U  L  A  I  M  A

3 1 0 . 7 2 1 . 3 2 6 4

http://xulaima.wordpress.com/

Imdb: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm2933034/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/XuLaiMa

Linkedin: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/jude-anchang/12/7a2/b12

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Xulaima/171357669577071

Enjoy a clip of Jude’s reel on  FatalCut Entertainment below.

Reel

More information on FCE:

Email: fatalcutentertainment@gmail.com

PROFILES/Press Release Services: fatalcutentertainment@gmail.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/Media.FCE

Twitter: @FCEontwit / https://twitter.com/FCEontwit

Leave a Reply

