FCE PROFILES: SABRINA CULVER up Close & Personal

In FCE profile interviews, FCE guests are more personal than ever. This week, we celebrate with SABRINA CULVER and the exceptional “ReMoved” cast on their Echolight Award and Sabrina’s Best Supporting actress nomination at the August 8th’ 168 Film Festival. Sabrina’s consistency and growth in the entertainment industry in Hollywood is worth a watch. In her own very original words, uncut and as direct as ever, SABRINA CULVER says it as it is. That’s why we are FatalCut Entertainment. Saying it as it is…

Bio0Sabrina Culver was born in Cleveland, Ohio and then lived in Westfield, NJ. She graduated from St. Luke’s School in New Canaan, Ct., studied classical piano from a very early age and always loved musical theatre and appearing in community and school productions before attending Emerson College in Boston. She did commercials and print modeling during college which led to her becoming one of 5 finalists in a Wella Balsam nationwide “We’re Looking for Faces ” contest spots for Right Guard, Chevrolet, Correctol, Miller Light Beer. Also appeared in dozens of other commercials, print jobs, music videos as well as a coveted role as the young Marilyn Monroe in a film “Broken Dreams”.

jI love to travel and have been fortunate in that acting and print modeling jobs have taken me to exciting places around the world, the most exciting of which was probably Beijing, China. I then made a decision to live abroad. I have two children who were both born overseas. I continued to work a bit with some modeling and commercial work but found it challenging in a different language.

Living in Los Angeles again for the last 8 months, I have been fortunate enough to book a webseries, 2 commercials and 4 films. I find this very encouraging as it has all happened in less than a year. I have worked on so many great projects. Just wrapped up a great project titled “Lock Box” scheduled to be released 1 October 2013 (USA) in which I play the role of Berkley. I also worked lately with Michael Alton Lowder, producer and actor in “Fake” and “Southern dysComfort”, award winning director Patrick McEveety.

FAKEI have also, very recently, worked with Nathanael Matanick the director from ReMoved which did not only have all of the nominations at last Thursday August 8th’ 168 Film Festival but won the Echolight Award which offers a production budget of up to $1 Million. Besides the Echolight Award, I’m also exited for the film to be nominated in the Best Film category, for Nathanael Matanick to be nominated in the Best Director category and my humble self in the best Supporting Actress category. ReMoved also took home the Best Editor, Best Make Up & Hair and Saturday’s 168 Film Festival Audience Favorite Awards.

ReMovedI have been cast in the film “The Toy Soldiers” where I will play the role of Penny Austen. I am very excited as it is a very interesting project with a very talented director Erik Peter Carlson – , I am also eagerly waiting to hear back from a film that I auditioned for that I think is going to be a great film- fingers crossed.

The Toy SoldiersFATAL:

The births of my two children mark the two most significant (crucial) events of my life and I strongly feel that the profound love I feel for them has changed my life so significantly. As trite as it sounds they force me to be the best person I can be despite any urges I might have to do reckless things as I once did, with little regard for myself or those who cared about me, I now want to set the best example for my children that I possibly can. I lived in Los Angeles for twelve years before I moved to Europe. During that time I made some poor decisions. When I left for Europe I was seriously underweight. I have long suffered with poor body image and low self-esteem and had the silly idea that if I could lose enough weight I would A. meet THE guy who would rescue me and give me the children I always longed for  or B. Land a great acting gig because skinny is EVERYTHING.

Fatal2

The relief that I felt in Europe when I was pregnant and “allowed ” to eat whatever I wanted without any concern about looking a certain way or fitting into a size 0 – when my main concern was eating enough to nourish the growing being in my body,  probably did end up saving me from a potentially FATAL eating disorder. I might not have been fully there but I was pretty close. These days I am a healthy weight and lucky that roles in my age category don’t seem to be as demanding in terms of having to be perfect. Of course at times I still beat myself up if I over indulge before a swimsuit audition but these days I work very hard at not discussing whether or not I look “fat” in front of my young daughter. I feel very blessed to have my family and I think that my acting has improved with life experience and I am buoyed by their love and support. I know that no matter how terrible a day I have with auditions which I feel I don’t do my best in or at times thoroughly bomb, I can walk in the door of my house and these 2 precious beings come running to me and say “mommy, you’re home!” and nothing else matters.

Fatal

CUT:

I opened a clothing boutique after years of being a stay at home mom. I was feeling creatively stalled and the children were in school during the week and I had a lot of spare time. I spent a great deal of time and money on that endeavor before something happened. I was offered an acting gig and it hit me like a thunderbolt. I wasn’t happy. I was expending so much time and energy with very little payback and realized my heart wasn’t in it. Like it or not I have the acting bug. I can’t shake it. I always have and will probably be pursuing dinner theatre roles in the middle of the boondocks when I am a granny but this is me and I feel most fortunate to be able to live in Los Angeles, to work with great people like my Manager(s) Victor Kruglov and Myreon Arslan and my commercial agent Elysium Talent Ryan McBay.

Cut2

ENTERTAINMENT:

I sing, I was a musical theatre major at Emerson college in Boston and there was a time during which there wasn’t a single show from the NY Times list on Broadway that I hadn’t seen at least once. I sing all the time in my car to my poor children. I sing answers to questions based on showtunes. I play the piano also and have done so my whole life. These days my biggest stress reliever is singing karaoke or just going downstairs where I have a makeshift office and belting out tunes. I am teaching my children to play the piano and they both love to sing and it gives me so much joy but I have been shocked sometimes when my privacy setting is off on YouTube or Spotify and the true musical theatre geek that I am is briefly exposed on Facebook. I have been discussing the possibility of making an album with a dear friend of original children’s songs as a tribute to my (lifesavers) my wonderful children and have had recorded one song. Troubled under the name Sabrina X with Johnny Klimek, which has had airplay on The Time Machine thanks to the amazing Michael McCartney and Summer Blue in Hawaii. Also I am a fashion blogger for a European fashion site called Chicisimo and have been ranked very high in the US at one point even number 2 despite the fact that most of the bloggers are half my age.

Entertainment

More information on Sabrina at:

IMDB – http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0191747/

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/wellswhit2

Twitter – @sabby_chic

YouTube – http://www.youtube.com/user/Mommytwee

Google Plus https://plus.google.com/113511492916884262146/posts

ReMoved.....

For more information on FCE:

Email: fatalcutentertainment@gmail.com

PROFILES/Press Release Services: fatalcutentertainment@gmail.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/Media.FCE

Twitter: @FCEontwit / https://twitter.com/FCEontwit

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow- what a thrill to be featured in your wonderful online publication FatalCut Entertainment. Great news to share too because ReMoved did win the grand prize of up to 1 million dollars to make a feature , thanks to John David Ware who started the 168 film festival and Echo Light Pictures and their collective values and desire to create faith based films and the director Nathanael Matanick- very excited now!
    Gerard , it has been a real pleasure dealing with you and I can’t wait to share this article with EVERYONE! The best thing i guess is that as usual you just Say it as it is! You are the best ! A million thanks!
    Sabrina Culver

    Like

    1. Hi Sabrina,

      It was a pleasure to both the FCE Team and myself in doing this profile on you. Congratulations again on your nomination and Echolight Award for ReMoved. Looking forward to the picture.

      Regards,

      Gerard on behalf of The FCE Team

      Like

  2. Marc J Schryer says:

    Sabrina, I am very happy you enjoyed FCE’s article of your life and career. It has been my happy pleasure to have been not just acquainted with you but also to have been able to play with you while at krater Studios. We had such a great time in their comedy class. I have always been a bit silly but that class allowed more of me to come out. I only wish we get a chance to work together on the same project in the future as I am thoroughly impressed with your talent.

    Like

  3. pitsart says:

    Hi Sabrina,

    Congratulations!

    We send you our best wishes for your career.

    Arrivederci in Umbria!

    Maurizio

    Like

Leave a Reply

